Opening the "eggs" of office space design in the post-epidemic era!
June saw the resumption of production and economic recovery. In this issue, we continue with the middle part of "Corporate change in the face of the epidemic".
Address:na
Time:2022/06/17~2056/06/23

In June, Shanghai saw a new lease of life after the epidemic was lifted and businesses resumed work and economic recovery. A systematic way of thinking is the starting point for designers to help companies change. In the last issue, mattDESIGN started the first part of "Corporate Change under the Epidemic", sharing our thoughts on the theme of "Design for Social Change in the Post-Epidemic Era". In this issue, we continue with the middle part of "Corporate Change in the Wake of the Epidemic".

 

Issue 2 Corporate Change under the Epidemic (Medium)

-Change and Innovation in Office Space

 

Chinese companies have been an important part of the globalised economy since its inception in the 1980s. in the recent years of the 21st century, Chinese companies have not only gone global, but have continued to explore inwards to stimulate innovation, strengthen their core competencies and design strategies to help them, taking on a role close to the top in terms of focusing on talent development and motivation, talent collaboration and innovation, and the application of new materials and technologies.

 

I. More adaptable, flexible and versatile space design

 

For a long time to come, Chinese companies will be conducting their economic activities in strict compliance with the national policy of prevention and clearing. The most important consideration for companies is safety and the ability for employees to work creatively in a safe environment. Designers need to help companies take into account the precautionary requirements of maintaining social distances in their designs, and companies can adopt space layouts that are flexible, controllable and more adaptable to changes in policy to meet their needs.

 

Let's take a look at the transformation options proposed by Steelcase. Scenario 1 is a 32 sqm meeting room with a capacity of 10 people before the retrofit, with cramped office space and narrow walking aisles. The first option was to directly reduce the density of staff from 10 to 6, expand the separate office area and keep the side-by-side seating the same. The second option was to replace the large conference table with a single desk, reposition the entrance way to the centre, parallel seating, add a separate office area and create direct access to the presentation board/lectern, allowing for easy switching between conference and office modes.

 

Before conversion -

Image courtesy of Steelcase

 

After conversion -

 

Image courtesy of Steelcase

 

Image courtesy of Steelcase

 

Option 2 is an open-plan coffee area of around 58 square metres, which before the renovation was relatively cramped and could accommodate around 20 people. Steelcase's proposal is a flexible solution that meets the requirements of social distance prevention and control.

 

Before conversion -

Image courtesy of Steelcase

 

After conversion -

 

Image courtesy of Steelcase

 

Image courtesy of Steelcase

 

Schrimmer Design Group provided detailed design recommendations for the company's response to the new crown epidemic, planning areas including office workstations, communal spaces, shared spaces and areas that can be flexibly utilised, adding individual ventilation and filtration systems and non-contact sterilisation to hardware facilities, designing with the aim of reducing staff density, maintaining a minimum social distance of 6 feet between workstations, using flexible furniture, partitions and screens to maintain space flexibility and mobility, and modifying high-traffic aisles to encourage safe and effective interaction and collaboration.

Image courtesy of Schrimmer Design Group

 

Image courtesy of Schrimmer Design Group

 

Image courtesy of Schrimmer Design Group

 

Image courtesy of Schrimmer Design Group

Image courtesy of Schrimmer Design Group

 

Perkins&Will's co-working space for Signify Health offers a new sense of connection. To promote a healthy and trusting office culture in the post-epidemic era, the design is about connecting space, culture and people. The designers have designed diverse office spaces, a variety of meeting rooms and lounge areas that can accommodate flexible office needs. Social distances are regulated with large, wider tables, teamwork and communication are highlighted with a striking staircase, where greetings are exchanged with colleagues on the staircase to promote human connection.

Image courtesy of Perkins&Will

 

Image courtesy of Perkins&Will

 

Image courtesy of Perkins&Will

 

Image courtesy of Perkins&Will

 

Image courtesy of Perkins&Will

 

Image courtesy of Perkins&Will

 

Modular furniture customisation to suit more flexible office needs is also something designers are thinking about, such as PRINCIPLES, a new furniture collection designed by OMA in collaboration with UniFor. The basic concept of PRINCIPLES is furniture that meets all the needs of people to support flexible working, meeting, social, intimate or semi-private needs. The collection consists of more than 100 different sized elements that companies can configure in a variety of ways, choosing to work in groups or independently. PRINCIPLES offers employees a wide choice of interactive communication, supports all types of spaces and uses from working, waiting, meeting and relaxing, and incorporates lighting, soundproofing and cable outlets to start the day at any time, anywhere. Isn't it tempting to work in a fun and comfortable environment?

 

Images courtesy of OMA and UniFor

 

Images courtesy of OMA and UniFor

 

Images courtesy of OMA and UniFor

 

Images courtesy of OMA and UniFor

 

Images courtesy of OMA and UniFor

 

Images courtesy of OMA and UniFor

 

Images courtesy of OMA and UniFor

 

II. Selection of materials

more conducive to environmental protection

 

Environmental issues are the greatest test of human economic development in the post-epidemic era, bringing with them an energy crisis, a raw materials crisis, a food crisis and the resulting health problems. Designers are able to contribute more to environmental protection not only because sustainability has become a design trend, but also because of a sense of responsibility. Designers and design companies are pioneers for their clients in the application of new technologies and techniques. They often come up with energy-saving and emission-reducing solutions that their clients have not thought of, which may cost extra costs and time in the short term, but which will benefit society as a whole in the long term.

 

BIG and Vestre have recently collaborated to build The Plus, an energy-efficient furniture factory in Norway, a low-rise structure in the shape of a cross with around 900 solar panels on the roof that will generate around 250,000 kWh of renewable energy per year, while reusing 90-95% of the water used in production. According to the design team, the building uses environmentally friendly and hard-wearing materials, robotically assisted production and will consume 60% less energy overall and emit 55% less greenhouse gases than a conventional factory. the Plus factory has also designed activity areas for children in the surrounding community to further promote environmental protection.

 

Image courtesy of BIG

 

Image courtesy of BIG

 

Image courtesy of BIG

 

Image courtesy of BIG

 

Image courtesy of BIG

 

Image courtesy of BIG

 

Image courtesy of BIG

 

For Torre Universal in San José, Costa Rica, Gensler has created an energy-efficient and contemporary office space system consisting of two basement levels and eight structured parking levels, topped by a lobby, retail floor and 14 floors of office space. The interior spaces are light-filled and the outdoor lounge terrace offers views of the city. The designers have used sophisticated materials and high performance design, a unitary glass curtain wall system to improve construction efficiency and control temperature, and a rainwater and groundwater irrigation reuse system which according to the designers will save 21% in energy costs, 82% in construction waste, 50% in indoor water costs and 100% in outdoor water costs.

 

Image courtesy of Gensler

 

Image courtesy of Gensler

 

Image courtesy of Gensler

 

Image courtesy of Gensler

 

Image courtesy of Gensler

 

Image courtesy of Gensler

 

Image courtesy of Gensler

 

With the post-epidemic era challenging companies to inspire innovation, it's time to unlock the 'egg' of office space design and shift the concept of the traditional workstation. By creating a more adaptable, humane and safe work environment, promoting a trusting and collaborative working atmosphere and encouraging employees to think outside the box, a flexible working environment and social distance will make them more comfortable and will further stimulate innovation. Encouraging the use of green materials and clean energy can strengthen the company's exploration of new materials and technologies, making it more competitive in the future. Designers' actions can create and change the future, and the opportunity of our time is with us.

 

In this issue we have presented the middle part of 'Transforming Businesses in an Epidemic', about the empowerment of design in physical spaces, and in the next issue we will continue with the next part of 'Transforming Businesses in an Epidemic'. Please feel free to share with us your thoughts and insights on the industry's cutting edge!

后疫情时代,打开办公空间设计的“彩蛋”!
六月,企业复工复产,经济复苏。这一期我们继续“疫情下的企业变革”的中篇。
地址:na
时间:2022/06/17~2056/06/23

六月,上海在疫情解封后逐步迎来新生,企业复工复产经济复苏。系统性的思维方式是设计师助力企业变革的起点。上一期,mattDESIGN开启了“疫情下的企业变革”的上篇,和大家分享了我们对“后疫情时代,设计赋能社会变革”这个主题的思考,这一期我们继续“疫情下的企业变革”的中篇。

 

第二期 疫情下的企业变革(中)

——办公空间的变化与创新

 

自20世纪80年代全球化经济开启,中国企业成为全球化重要的一员。21世纪近几年,中国企业不仅走向全球,并持续向内探索,激发创新活力,加强核心竞争力,设计助力企业战略,在注重人才培养和激励、人才协作与创新、新材料与新科技的应用等方面都承担着接近于顶层设计的角色。

 

一、更具适应性、灵活多变的空间设计

 

未来较长时间内,中国企业都将严格遵照国家防疫清零的政策开展经济活动,对企业最重要的考量因素就是安全,员工能够在安全的环境中富有创造力地工作。设计师在设计中要帮助企业考虑到保持社交距离的防控要求,企业可以采用灵活、可控、更适应政策变化的空间布局满足企业的需求。

 

我们先来看看Steelcase提出的改造方案。方案1是一间32平米的会议室,改造前可容纳10人,办公空间拥挤,行走通道狭小。第1个改造方案是直接降低人员密度,从可容纳10人减少到6人,扩大独立办公区域,并列座椅不变。第2个改造方案是将大型会议桌改成单人办公桌,入口通道调整至中心,并列座椅,增加独立办公区域,设立直达演示板/讲台的通道,可方便地在会议及办公两种模式中切换。

 

改造前——

图片来源于Steelcase

 

改造后——

 

图片来源于Steelcase

 

图片来源于Steelcase

 

方案2是一块58平米左右的开放式咖啡区域,改造前空间较为拥挤,可容纳20人左右。改造后计划将座椅划分为更小单元,增加单人桌,降低人员密度,用共享橱柜起到空间隔断的作用,并规定出入口单向流通的方向。Steelcase提出的改造方案具有一定的灵活性,也符合社交距离的防控要求。

 

改造前——

图片来源于Steelcase

 

改造后——

图片来源于Steelcase

 

图片来源于Steelcase

 

Schrimmer Design Group为企业应对新冠疫情提出了详细的设计建议,规划区域包括办公工位、公共空间、共享空间及可灵活利用的区域,硬件设施上增加独立通风过滤系统和无接触消毒设施,设计上以减少人员密度为宗旨,工位保持至少6英尺的社交距离,利用灵活的家具、隔板、屏风保持空间灵活性和流动性,并对高流量的通道进行修改,鼓励人们安全有效的互动和协作。

图片来源于Schrimmer Design Group

 

图片来源于Schrimmer Design Group

 

图片来源于Schrimmer Design Group

 

图片来源于Schrimmer Design Group

图片来源于Schrimmer Design Group

 

Perkins&Will为Signify Health设计的联合办公空间,提供了一种全新的连接感,为促进后疫情时代办公室文化向健康、信任发展,设计上就要把空间、文化与人连接起来。设计师设计了多样的办公空间、多样的会议室以及休闲区可适应灵活的办公需求,用较宽的大桌子规范社交距离,用醒目的楼梯突出强调团队协作与沟通,在楼梯上与同事相互问候,促进了人与人之间的沟通。

图片来源于Perkins&Will

 

图片来源于Perkins&Will

 

图片来源于Perkins&Will

 

图片来源于Perkins&Will

 

图片来源于Perkins&Will

 

图片来源于Perkins&Will

 

模块化家具定制以适应更灵活的办公需求也是设计师们思考的方向,例如OMA与UniFor合作设计的新家具系列PRINCIPLES。PRINCIPLES的基本概念是满足人们所有需要的家具,以支持灵活办公、会议、社交、私密或半私密的需求。该系列由100多个不同大小的元素组成,企业可以以多种方式进行配置,选择分组或独立工作。PRINCIPLES为员工提供了选择多样的互动交流方式,支持从工作、等候、会议、休闲等各种类型的空间和用途,且融合了照明、隔音和电缆插座,随时随地就可以开启一天的工作,这样有趣、舒适的工作环境是不是很诱人?

图片来源于OMA和UniFor

 

图片来源于OMA和UniFor

 

图片来源于OMA和UniFor

 

图片来源于OMA和UniFor

 

图片来源于OMA和UniFor

 

图片来源于OMA和UniFor

 

图片来源于OMA和UniFor

 

二、更有利于环境保护的材料选择

 

环境问题是后疫情时代对人类经济发展最大的考验,环境问题带来能源危机、原材料危机、粮食危机以及引发的健康问题。设计师们能够为环境保护做出更多贡献,不仅在于可持续发展已成为设计趋势,更是由于一份责任。在应用新科技、新技术的方面设计师、设计公司是客户的先行者,设计师、设计公司往往会提出很多客户未曾想到的节能减排方案,短期看来可能要花费额外的成本和时间,长期看来却有益于整个社会的发展。

 

BIG与Vestre近日合作在挪威建立了一座节能环保的家具工厂The Plus。The Plus呈十字形状的低矮结构,屋顶上有大约900块太阳能电池板,每年将产生约250,000 千瓦时的可再生能源,同时可重复利用生产中使用的 90-95% 的水。据设计团队介绍,建筑使用环保和耐磨的材料,机器人辅助生产,总体能耗将比传统工厂低60%,温室气体排放低55%。The Plus工厂还为周边社区的孩子设计了活动区域,以进一步倡导环境保护。

图片来源于BIG

 

图片来源于BIG

 

图片来源于BIG

 

图片来源于BIG

 

图片来源于BIG

 

图片来源于BIG

 

图片来源于BIG

 

Gensler为哥斯达黎加圣何塞的Torre Universal打造了节能又现代的办公空间系统,整体由两层地下层和八个结构化停车场组成,顶部设有一个大堂、零售楼和 14 层办公空间。室内空间具有充足的采光,户外休闲露台可眺望城市风光。设计师采用精密材料和高性能设计,单元玻璃幕墙系统可提高施工效率并控制温度,雨水、地下水灌溉再利用系统,据设计师介绍将节省21% 的能源费用、82%的建筑垃圾、50%的室内用水费用和100%的室外用水费用。

图片来源于Gensler

 

图片来源于Gensler

 

图片来源于Gensler

 

图片来源于Gensler

 

图片来源于Gensler

 

图片来源于Gensler

 

图片来源于Gensler

 

后疫情时代对企业能否激发创新活力提出挑战,是时候打开办公空间设计的“彩蛋”,转变传统工位的理念了。通过打造更具适应性、更人性化、更安全的办公环境,促进信任、合作的工作氛围,鼓励员工跳出固有思维框架进行思考,灵活的工作环境和社交距离将使得他们更加自在,也能够进一步激发企业的创新活力。鼓励绿色环保材料、清洁能源的使用,能够加强企业对新材料、新技术的探索,在未来更有竞争力。设计师们的行动能创造和改变未来,时代的契机与我们同在。

 

这一期我们介绍了“疫情下的企业变革”中篇,讲述了在物理空间上设计的赋能,下一期我们将继续讲述“疫情下的企业变革”下篇。欢迎您留言互动,与我们共同分享行业最前沿的思考和洞见!