Issue 1 | How design can empower business change in the post-epidemic era (Previous)
It is increasingly important to think about how to design services around 'metaverse', 'epidemics' and 'climate change'.
Address:na
Time:2022/05/25~2044/05/25

The year 2022 marks the third year of the epidemic sweeping the world, with the new mutant strain of Omicron reaching even higher peaks in terms of its impact on work and life. It is also in 2022 that the perception of the meta-universe becomes clearer and the frenzied pursuit of the market leads to a multitude of ideas and interactions cascading around it. In 2022, the planet on which humanity depends is facing a major environmental crisis, with record greenhouse gas concentrations, sea level rise, ocean heat and ocean acidification all having been recorded in the past year ...... The impact of the epidemic and environmental degradation are overlapping. In the post-epidemic era, collaborative, inclusive and sustainable development is becoming an increasingly clear reality. As designers and innovation-driven design companies, it is important to consider how to develop design services around the "meta-universe", "epidemic" and "climate change", and to use systematic design It has become increasingly important to integrate these three key words for 2022 with systematic design language and practical action. Today we will look at the new opportunities and changes in design services brought about by technological and interactive innovations in the post-epidemic era.

 

We will share with you mattDESIGN's thoughts on the theme of "Design for Social Change in the Post-Epidemic Era" from four perspectives: "Corporate Change under the Epidemic", "Creative Extension of Transportation", "Creative Extension of Branding", and "Creative Extension of Home + Life".

 

 

Issue 1: Business change under the epidemic (above)

Disruption in the way we work has arrived

 

We are in the midst of a transition from the mobile internet era to the Internet of Things era, where human-computer connectivity is becoming the new way of interacting with information. The impact of the epidemic on businesses is even more pronounced in the physical and spatial constraints of business travel and collaborative working. These adverse factors are also pushing businesses to explore new ways of interacting with information and collaboration, from physical space to information interaction are giving rise to new business scenarios and opportunities to extend around these scenarios, through new forms of collaboration driven by technological innovation, allowing business services to break through the existing physical and spatial constraints and bring business services in a more efficient way.

 

The world of the future is a decentralised one, where we can experience other people's lives and experience different worlds. The boundaries of design are being broken down and the definition of design is being reconfigured so that there is no longer a specific designer standing behind it, but everyone can be a designer. The role of design companies and designers is changing to that of designers of tools, designers of platforms and finally design is going to be de-designed and the user of the product becomes the ultimate designer ......

 

 

A new form of teamwork that is faster and stronger

 

Schumpeter said that innovation is the most important driving force for business growth. But entrepreneurs often fail to understand why a team of geniuses does not really lead to innovation in a company. Modern corporate people management is more focused on the interaction between employees, claiming that good relationships are better than genius minds and more conducive to corporate innovation.

 

Immersive forms of teamwork may not save a business from an epidemic, but they can bring people closer together in remote working, facilitate effective communication and increase efficiency, which is also more applicable in multinational companies. Before we do that, let's look at a case study that sprang up in the social sector.

 

At Connect 2021, Mark Zuckerberg officially launched "Meta", claiming that Meta is dedicated to bringing the metaverse into people's lives, with all applications and technologies integrated into it, including the one we know as Facebook. At Connect, Meta previewed the Presence Platform, a development platform for Meta Quest to build AR and VR worlds, with machine awareness and artificial intelligence capabilities to accelerate the environment in which Meta Quest VR scenarios will run, pending a full launch this year.

Image courtesy of Spark AR

 

"Meta" follows the powerful social properties of Facebook, which are even more evident in its Spark AR platform. With creativity and inspiration, one can create personalised creations for their face augmented reality on the Spark AR platform and generate attention on Instagram. The Spark AR platform has a library of augmented reality templates and materials, and designers and modellers can create their own innovative and rich visuals.

 

Image courtesy of Spark AR

 

In terms of industrial upgrading, Nvidia, with its expertise in technology, has created NVIDIA OMNIVERSE, a platform that connects 3D worlds to shared virtual worlds, and based on its rich resources and project accumulation, creates a future smart factory where virtual models are synchronized with the real world for customers. Customers can build unique virtual worlds based on their product needs, supported by powerful rendering capabilities, artificial intelligence and information technology to create an extremely realistic visual and behavioural experience, accelerating product design iterations. Designers will still provide solutions and advice, but we must realise that designers have gradually receded into the background, leaving customers free to lead the products they need and to suggest the tools they require.

 

Image courtesy of NVIDIA OMNIVERSE

 

Specifically, NVIDIA OMNIVERSE consists of three main components. The first is Omniverse Nucleus, a database engine that connects users to exchange 3D models with real scene data. Once connected, designers can layout, model, shade, and light layouts, and multiple designers can connect and collaborate on modeling at the same time. The second major component is the compositing, rendering and animation engine, which helps to give virtual world models a detailed and textured reality. The third component is NVIDIA CloudXR, which includes client and server software for transferring extended reality content from the app to Android and Windows devices where clients can log in and access it. In this we can see a change in the way designers interact with customers, who are deeply involved in product development and become an active builder.

 

The BMW Factory of the Future is an inspiring example of this. BMW has created a digital factory of the future in NVIDIA Omniverse. The upgrade led by NVIDIA OMNIVERSE has the potential to disrupt the way companies have worked for years in product development and reinvent the product planning process. A wide range of industries such as transportation, construction and engineering, industrial manufacturing, culture and entertainment have the opportunity to benefit from this.

 

Image courtesy of bmwblog

 

Image courtesy of bmwblog

 

Image courtesy of bmwblog

 

In terms of design services, the design house itself is also actively exploring digital transformation.

 

Also serving automotive clients, Italdesign's digital presence predates the 20th century and now includes two virtual reality centres and an immersive experience centre. The Virtual Reality Centre is equipped with a Barco SIM7 digital projector with a total resolution of 3682 x 1536 pixels, where the client receives a visual 3D model from the design company and the designers and constructors can use their simple IT knowledge to handle the projected objects, adjust the size and angle of the view, change the colour of the product, etc. and present it directly to the client. In the immersive experience centre, designers and engineers test the products to be delivered, adjusting data and technical specifications in real time based on virtual reality technology, and can create and monitor data for the project. Customers, designers and engineers interact with the models in virtual reality, working together to better complete the design and adjust the structure of different parts, thus improving the overall product quality.

 

Image courtesy of Italdesign

 

Image courtesy of Italdesign

 

Image courtesy of Italdesign

 

In the design industry, the ability to have powerful resources is overtaking the importance of personal experience when it comes to coming up with multiple design solutions. The most convenient aspect of Adobe Substance 3D is that it connects directly to the Adobe Creative Cloud, and Photoshop and Illustrator files can be import directly into the application. The 3D library currently has 2,200 3D models and 8,900 materials to choose from, or designers can customise their own patterns or create their own models, click and drag and drop materials directly onto the product, and see the results -

 

Image courtesy of Adobe Substance 3D

 

Image courtesy of Adobe Substance 3D

 

Image courtesy of Adobe Substance 3D

 

Image courtesy of Adobe Substance 3D

 

Some companies cut their teeth on software, others start with hardware. This is a virtual tool for AR remote collaboration full of simplicity designed by Frog DESIGN, a tool built for Campfire's industrial and spatial design practitioners. Remote teams sit around a table to talk, think, observe and build new ideas together, allowing collaborators to not only see and work on a 3D product at the same time, but also to see and communicate with each other in virtual space, making traditional development collaboration, which requires complex project management processes, more efficient and intuitive, cost effectively moving from marketing, product definition, design development The plasticity between market, product definition, design development and physical presentation is increased exponentially.

 

Image courtesy of Frog DESIGN

 

Image courtesy of Frog DESIGN

 

Image courtesy of Frog DESIGN

 

Virtual meetings and work scenarios increase productivity

 

Virtual meetings and work scenarios create an equal, positive and shared team experience. Respect for individual needs and a comfortable and quiet work environment improve the concentration and well-being of employees, help them integrate with each other, integrate new employees more quickly into the company and, in turn, increase their overall productivity. In this, the designer acts as an enabler to promote a better corporate environment and working atmosphere.

 

NextMeet has created a virtual office immersion platform that allows employees to take on virtual avatars, enter and exit virtual offices and meeting rooms, deliver presentations from a podium, relax with colleagues in the break room, roam the conference centre or exhibition centre ...... Employees can easily log into the virtual environment and customise their avatar from their computer or mobile device.

 

Image courtesy of NextMeet

 

PixelMax's immersive technology allows users to find and talk to a colleague's avatar in real time. In addition to virtual meeting centres and workplaces, they have created areas that are conducive to physical and mental health such as forests and aquariums, and users can also take breaks to participate in panoramic meditation and fitness classes, making work a life they love. Wouldn't it be great to imagine your future work where you could talk to your colleagues on the beach, float and think while completing meeting notes on a space station, or walk from your office in London into a conference room in New York with just the snap of a finger?

 

Image courtesy of PixelMax

 

Image courtesy of PixelMax

 

Image courtesy of PixelMax

 

Digital avatars and digital human colleagues

 

In companies in the internet age, we always find that iterative feedback of innovation does not originate from the centre of the business, and that creative companies are able to constantly update and iterate like living self-organisations. Designers are also envisaging ways of enabling creativity in every employee of the client, and they have come up with ways of allowing understanding, respect and care to spread. This principle holds true when applied to the user experience.

 

The enterprise communications platform Zoom has introduced a new avatar feature that allows employees to customise virtual animal images to participate in web meetings, creating a fun environment for remote communication and collaboration. zoom believes that this new feature enhances team communication and cohesion by dressing up as employees' favourite animals, creating an energetic and fantastic atmosphere for work.

 

Image courtesy of designboom

 

Image courtesy of designboom

 

Digital avatars can also be used in business scenarios, and SoulMachines is applying artificial intelligence to digital avatars to create lifelike, empathic digital humans that take on a variety of business roles that require listening and advising, such as skincare advisors, new coronavirus health advisors, real estate agents and university application advisors. Digital humans have the ability to learn, to analyse human requests and respond accordingly, and their expressions, eyes and gestures are very close to those of humans.

 

Image courtesy of SoulMachines

 

Image courtesy of SoulMachines

 

Image courtesy of SoulMachines

 

Corporate Training AR Empowerment Upgrade

 

The use of metaverse-related technologies is already gradually changing the paradigm of corporate training and reducing the time it takes for employees to upgrade their new skills. In virtual worlds, every object such as design models, training manuals, and products can be interacted with, and users are able to learn in highly realistic scenarios through virtual images, which are already being used effectively in the healthcare sector.

 

Microsoft HoloLens' clinical visualisation application in collaboration with surgical AR company Medivis has overturned the limitations of traditional 2D imaging, enabling doctors to improve surgical accuracy and change the working scenario of surgical execution, training doctors and nurses through visual 3D holograms and enhancing their understanding of human anatomy.

 

Image courtesy of Microsoft

 

Embodied Labs creates immersive care scenarios for healthcare professionals and elderly caregivers to help them experience the differences in the lives of elderly people with cognitive and deafblindness, promote mutual understanding and communication, assist them with diagnosis and improve satisfaction with services.

 

Image courtesy of: Embodied Labs

 

In 2022, many companies and designers in China are facing major changes that have not been seen in decades. We would like to work together with you to overcome the challenges of the times, to analyse and connect deeply, and to gain insights into the future business that you can work for your whole life.

 

In this issue, we have talked about the disruption of the way of working in the context of "Corporate Change under the Epidemic", and we will continue with "Corporate Change under the Epidemic" in the next issue.

第一期 | 后疫情时代,设计如何赋能企业变革(上)
作为设计师及设计企业,思考如何围绕“元宇宙”、“疫情”、“气候变化”展开设计服务,用系统化设计语言与行动来融彻这三个2022年的关键词,越发重要。
地址:na
时间:2022/05/25~2044/05/25

2022年,是疫情席卷全球的第三年,新变异毒株Omicron对工作、生活造成的影响达到更高峰值。也是在2022年,人们对元宇宙的认知逐渐清晰,市场狂热的追求使得众多围绕元宇宙的创意与交互层层涌现。更是在2022年,人类赖以生存的地球面临着重大的环境危机,在过去的一年里,温室气体浓度、海平面上升、海洋热量和海洋酸化均创新纪录……疫情影响与环境恶化相互叠加。在后疫情时代,协作共享、创新包容、可持续发展正在成为愈加明朗的现实趋势。作为设计师以及以创新为驱动力的设计企业,思考如何围绕“元宇宙”、“疫情”、“气候变化”展开设计服务,用系统化的设计语言与实际行动来融彻这三个2022年的关键词,变得越发重要。那么今天我们来看看在后疫情时代的技术创新与交互创新为设计服务带来的新机遇与新变革。

 

我们将从“疫情下的企业变革”、“交通运输的创意延伸”、“品牌塑造的创意延伸”、“家+生活的创意延伸”四个方面和大家分享mattDESIGN对“后疫情时代,设计赋能社会变革”这个主题的思考,欢迎您与我们共同探讨!

 

 

第一期 疫情下的企业变革(上)

——工作方式的颠覆已然到来

 

我们身处移动互联网时代向物联网时代的融合过渡期,人机互联正在成为新的信息交互方式。疫情对企业的影响在商务旅行、协作办公的物理与空间限制下更为凸显,这些不利因素也在推动企业探索全新的信息与协作交互方式,从物理空间到信息交互都在催生新的商业场景以及围绕这些场景延伸的契机,通过技术创新推动的新生协作形式,让企业服务能够突破既有物理与空间限制,将商业服务以更高效的方式展现。

 

未来的世界是去中心化的世界,我们可以体验别人的人生,体验不同的世界。设计的边界被打破了,设计的定义正在重构,其背后不再站着具体的设计者,而是人人都可以成为设计者。设计公司和设计师的角色转变为工具的设计者,平台的设计者,最后设计走向去设计化,产品的用户成为了最终的设计师......

 

 

更快、更强的团队协作新形式

 

熊彼特说,创新是企业发展最重要的推动力。但是企业家们往往无法理解,为何一个天才组成的团队并没有真正实现企业的创新。现代企业人力管理更注重于员工之间的互动关系,声称好的关系优于天才的头脑,更能促进企业的创新。

 

沉浸式团队协作形式或许不能救疫情下的企业于水火,但能够在远程办公中拉近人与人之间的距离,促进有效沟通,提高工作效率,这在跨国公司中也更为适用。在这之前,我们先看萌生于社交领域的一个案例。

 

在2021年的Connect大会上,马克·扎克伯格正式推出“Meta”,宣称Meta致力于将元宇宙带入人们的生活,所有应用程序和技术都整合其中,包括我们所熟知的Facebook。Meta在Connect 大会上预告了为Meta Quest构建AR、VR世界的开发平台Presence Platform,具备机器感知和人工智能功能,能够加速Meta Quest VR场景的运行环境,尚待今年全面推出。

图片来源于Spark AR

 

“Meta”沿袭自Facebook强大的社交属性,在其推出的Spark AR平台上更淋漓尽致地体现出来。只要有创意和灵感,就可以在Spark AR平台为自己的脸部增强现实,创作个性化的作品,在Instagram上引发关注。现在Spark AR 已经可以跟踪到身上20个不同的位置,并在持续扩展。Spark AR平台有增强现实模板和素材库,设计师、建模师也可以自己创作新颖、丰富的视觉效果。

 

图片来源于Spark AR

 

在产业升级方面,以技术作为看家本领的Nvidia重磅打造了将3D世界连接至共享虚拟世界的平台NVIDIA OMNIVERSE,基于丰富的资源和项目积累,为客户打造虚拟模型与真实世界同步的未来智能工厂。客户可以根据自己的产品需求构建独特的虚拟世界,在强大渲染能力、人工智能和信息技术的支持下造就了极为真实的视觉感受和行为体验,加速了产品设计迭代的速度。设计师依然会提供方案和建议,但我们必须意识到,设计师已经逐渐退到幕后,由客户自由主导他们需要的产品,并提出所需工具的需求。

 

图片来源于NVIDIA OMNIVERSE

 

具体说来,NVIDIA OMNIVERSE包括三个主要部分。第一个是Omniverse Nucleus。它是一个连接用户实现3D模型和真实场景数据交换的数据库引擎。设计师连接后,可进行布局、建模、着色、照明布局,多位设计师可同时连接、协作建模。第二个主要部分是合成、渲染及动画引擎,为虚拟世界模型呈现精细和富有质感的真实效果助力。第三个部分是NVIDIA CloudXR。它包括客户端和服务器软件,用于将扩展的现实内容从应用程序传输到客户可以登录的Android和Windows设备进行访问。从中我们可以看到,设计师与客户互动的方式发生了变革,客户深度参与了产品开发,成为了一个主动的构建者。

 

宝马未来工厂就是一个富有启迪的应用案例。宝马在NVIDIA Omniverse中创建了一个数字化的未来工厂。宝马借助技术工具在虚拟工厂中建模、研发,所有的结构都能方便地拆解,设计修改非常方便,重要的是与真实世界的生产数据匹配,效率提升的同时精度始终如一。NVIDIA OMNIVERSE所引导的产业升级,极有可能打破多年来企业产品开发的工作方式,再造产品规划流程,交通运输、建筑工程、工业制造、文化娱乐等各行各业都有机会从中获益。

 

图片来源于NVIDIA OMNIVERSE

 

图片来源于NVIDIA OMNIVERSE

 

图片来源于NVIDIA OMNIVERSE

 

在设计服务方面,设计公司自身也在积极地探索数字化转型。

 

同样服务汽车客户,Italdesign的数字化布局早于20世纪,目前有两个虚拟现实中心和一个沉浸式体验中心。虚拟现实中心配备总分辨率为3682 x 1536像素的Barco SIM7数字投影仪,客户从设计公司获得可视化的3D模型,设计师、结构师运用简单的IT知识即可处理投影的对象,调整视图的大小、角度,更改产品的颜色等,向客户直接展现。在沉浸式体验中心,设计师和工程师测试即将交付的产品,基于虚拟现实技术,实时调整数据和技术规格,并可创建和监控项目的数据。客户、设计师和工程师们在虚拟现实中与模型进行交互,共同协作更好地完成设计,调整不同部位的结构,进而提高整体的产品质量。

 

图片来源于Italdesign

 

图片来源于Italdesign

 

图片来源于Italdesign

 

在设计行业,如果要拿出多个设计方案来,拥有强大资源的能力正在超越个人经验的重要性。Adobe Substance 3D给工业设计师们的赋能不容小视,Adobe Substance 3D能够使得包装设计这一步效率翻倍。Adobe Substance 3D由多个Adobe应用程序及不断充实的3D素材库组成,设计师能够从中创建、调用和调整3D视觉内容,在沉浸式的 3D 场景中进行渲染。Adobe Substance 3D最便捷之处在于,可直接连接到 Adobe Creative Cloud,Photoshop、Illustrator文件也能够直接导入应用程序。目前3D素材库有2200个3D模型和 8900种材质可选,设计师也可以定制自己的图案或创建自己的模型,点击直接拖放材料就可以应用到产品上,来看看效果吧——

 

图片来源于Adobe Substance 3D

 

图片来源于Adobe Substance 3D

 

图片来源于Adobe Substance 3D

 

图片来源于Adobe Substance 3D

 

有的公司从软件切入,有的从硬件着手。这是一款Frog DESIGN设计的充满简约气质的AR远程协作的虚拟工具,这款工具是为Campfire的工业设计和空间设计工作者打造的。远程办公的团队围坐在桌边,共同交谈、思考、观察和构建新创意,不仅允许协作者同时看到并操作一个三维产品,而且能够让协作者在虚拟空间中看到彼此并进行沟通,使得需要通过流程复杂的项目管理才能实现的传统开发协作变得更加高效而直观化,高性价比地从市场、产品定义、设计研发到实物呈现之间的可塑性获得指数级提升。

 

图片来源于Frog DESIGN

 

图片来源于Frog DESIGN

 

图片来源于Frog DESIGN

 

虚拟会议和工作场景提高工作效率

 

虚拟会议及工作场景创造了平等、积极、共享的团队体验,对个人需求的尊重及舒适安静的工作场景能够提升员工的专注力和幸福感,帮助员工之间增进融合,新员工也能更快地融入企业,进而整体提高员工的工作效率。在这之中,设计师更像是一个推动者,促进更好的企业环境和工作氛围。

 

NextMeet打造的虚拟办公沉浸式平台,使员工可化身为虚拟形象,进出虚拟办公室和会议室、在讲台上发表演讲、在休息室与同事一起放松、漫游会议中心或展览中心......员工通过电脑或移动设备就可以轻松登录虚拟环境,定制他们的虚拟形象。

 

图片来源于NextMeet

 

PixelMax的沉浸式技术让用户可以实时找到同事的虚拟形象,并与他交谈,除了虚拟会议中心、工作场所,他们还创造了森林、水族馆这些有利于身心健康的区域,用户还可以利用休息时间参与全景式冥想、健身课程,让工作成为自己热爱的生活。想象你未来的工作,可以与同事在海边交谈,可以在空间站边漂浮、边思考,同时完成会议记录,或者从伦敦的办公室走进纽约的会议室只需要动一动手指,是否非常惬意呢?

 

图片来源于PixelMax

 

图片来源于PixelMax

 

图片来源于PixelMax

 

数字化虚拟形象和数字人同事

 

在互联网时代的公司中,我们总是发现创新的迭代反馈不是来源于企业的中心,富有创造力的企业就像有生命的自组织一样能够不断更新迭代。设计师也在设想,使得客户的每一位员工都能够发挥创造力的方式,他们想到了让理解、尊重与关爱蔓延。这一原则运用在用户体验上也是成立的。

 

企业通信平台Zoom新推出了头像功能,让员工可以定制虚拟动物形象参与网络会议,为远程沟通、协作创造了一个有趣的环境。Zoom认为,这个新功能通过装扮成员工最喜欢的动物,可以增强团队的交流和凝聚力,为工作营造富有活力的奇妙氛围。

 

图片来源于designboom

 

图片来源于designboom

 

数字化虚拟形象还可以应用于商业场景中。SoulMachines正在将人工智能应用于数字化虚拟形象,创造栩栩如生、具有共情能力的数字人类,扮演着各种需要倾听和给予建议的商业角色,例如护肤顾问、新冠病毒健康顾问、房地产经纪人和大学申请顾问等。数字人类具备学习能力,能够分析人类的诉求,给予相应的回答,其表情、眼神和手势也非常接近人类。

 

图片来源于SoulMachines

 

图片来源于SoulMachines

 

图片来源于SoulMachines

 

企业培训AR赋能升级

 

元宇宙相关技术的运用,已经在逐渐改变企业培训的模式,缩短员工提升新技能所需要的时间。在虚拟世界中,每个对象例如设计模型、培训手册、产品都可以交互,用户通过虚拟形象能够在高度逼真的场景中学习,在医疗健康领域已经获得有效的应用。

 

Microsoft HoloLens与外科手术AR公司Medivis合作的临床可视化应用,颠覆了传统2D成像的局限性,使医生提高了手术精确度,改变了手术执行的工作场景,通过可视化的3D全息图培训医生、护士,加强了他们对人体解剖结构的理解。

 

图片来源于Microsoft

 

Embodied Labs为医护人员和长者护理人打造了沉浸式护理场景,帮助他们体验有认知障碍和视听障碍的老人生活的不同,促进彼此的理解和沟通,协助他们进行诊断,提升服务的满意度。

 

图片来源于:Embodied Labs

 

2022年,中国的很多企业和设计师面对着几十年来未有之大变局,我们愿与大家共克时艰,深度剖析,深度连接,共同洞见未来可以为之奋斗一生的事业。

 

这一期我们讲述了“疫情下的企业变革”之工作方式的颠覆,下一期我们继续讲述“疫情下的企业变革”。