Challenges and Opportunities of Industrial Design
Industrial design is a strategic problem-solving process that drives innovation, builds business success, and leads to a better quality of life through innovative products, systems, services, and experiences. Industrial designers put people at the center of the process, gain a deep understanding of user needs by thinking differently, and design products, systems, services, and experiences using knowledge from different professional disciplines and a pragmatic, user-centered problem-solving process. Industrial design is a panoramic perspective to complement the professional deficiencies of product managers and engineers and the lack of management at the strategic level to make products, systems, services and experiences better.
Address:na
Time:2021/10/21~2021/10/31

Industrial design is a strategic problem-solving process that drives innovation, builds business success, and leads to a better quality of life through innovative products, systems, services, and experiences. Industrial designers put people at the center of the process, gain a deep understanding of user needs by thinking differently, and design products, systems, services, and experiences using knowledge from different professional disciplines and a pragmatic, user-centered problem-solving process. Industrial design is a panoramic perspective to complement the professional deficiencies of product managers and engineers and the lack of management at the strategic level to make products, systems, services and experiences better.

From the perspective of product complexity, roughly classified, there are relatively simple arts and crafts (cultural and creative), daily necessities, FMCG products, etc., there are more complex electronic information categories (intelligent terminals, health care, smart wear, etc.), small home appliances, etc., there are very complex home appliances, communication tools, various types of equipment, transportation category, etc.. Relatively speaking, the first two categories often require industrial design to provide brand strategy, marketing planning, product planning, modeling design, engineering design, APP design, UI/UX design, proofing, testing and certification, packaging design, supply chain integration, service design, and even marketing and sales of various design support, manufacturers most hope that one-stop service. The third category is often stronger manufacturers, even without industrial design can also sell products, industrial design often starts from market research to the end of engineering data model or proofing, other types of services are optional services; of course, the whole process system design support, can create greater benefits. (For example, see: strategy, brand, design trinity: LiuGong story) For services, except for the absence of tangible products, other aspects of the need for design is no less.

A new, futuristic electric bus released by the UK-based Arrival

 The industrial design capability of a country is not determined by how literary a package of instant noodles is or how clever a wine thermometer is, but by the level of design of common, commonly used, high-value products such as home appliances, communication tools, equipment, transportation, and urban furniture. These products can take advantage of the latest materials, processes, and new technologies, as well as give rise to new materials, processes, and technologies in ahead-of-the-curve design. (for example, see: Apple's industrial design holds up the empire)

Concept Fire Truck Design by Vladislav Kulikov

 The "Way" of industrial design is to study the geography, history, culture and other factors of the client's market in depth, to distill the essence, to form a unique aesthetic and design philosophy, and to put it into one's own work. Such a master is Masayuki Kurokawa. The "method" of industrial design is the usual logic of the design industry, such as design psychology, color science, material science, processing technology, project management, etc., to arrange the corresponding design process and delivery standards. The "art" of industrial design is the choice of tools in different design stages, such as research tools, design software, rendering methods, surface treatment, etc.

Masayuki Kurokawa Japanese Iron 'NIRVANA' (Nirvana) Boiling Teapot

Industrial design involves collaboration with different stakeholders, the important ones being the client, the user and the partners. The client is the one who pays, and its boss is ultimately the one who claps to confirm the design; different functions of the client such as project, engineering and design will be involved in the project. When industrial design is dominant it needs to be fully considered at every step of decision making in terms of structure, material, process and processing capability, etc. It needs to draw on SE's expertise and also needs to make comprehensive consideration of cost, etc.; while when engineering is dominant, industrial design is mainly used as artwork and will be less useful but has to make a difference. The user is the one who ultimately buys and/or uses, and the creativity of industrial design and the compromise in multiple rounds of customer decisions influence whether the user buys or not. Every design organization and designer has aspects that they are good and not good at. With such a long line of industrial design, it is inevitable to supplement or replace it with the power of partners, such as UI design can be designed, but coding has to be done with software engineers; and the standard of a partner circle can affect the quality of a project delivery and the future of a design organization.

UI Design

In China in full swing towards "Made in China 2025", which the national will, foreign interference and economic ups and downs affect each other, but the transformation of Chinese manufacturing from quantity to quality has been irreversible, it is a great time for industrial design!

工业设计之挑战与机遇
工业设计是一个战略性的问题解决过程,通过创新的产品、系统、服务和体验,推动创新,建立商业成功,并带来更好的生活质量。工业设计师把人放在整个过程的中心,通过换位思考深入了解用户的需求,并运用不同的专业学科知识和务实的、以用户为中心的问题解决流程来设计产品、系统、服务和体验。工业设计是从全景的角度来补足产品经理和工程师的专业上的不足和管理层在战略层面上的欠缺,让产品、系统、服务和体验更好。
地址:na
时间:2021/10/21~2021/10/31

工业设计是一个战略性的问题解决过程,通过创新的产品、系统、服务和体验,推动创新,建立商业成功,并带来更好的生活质量。工业设计师把人放在整个过程的中心,通过换位思考深入了解用户的需求,并运用不同的专业学科知识和务实的、以用户为中心的问题解决流程来设计产品、系统、服务和体验。工业设计是从全景的角度来补足产品经理和工程师的专业上的不足和管理层在战略层面上的欠缺,让产品、系统、服务和体验更好。

从产品的复杂角度来看,粗粗分类,有相对简单的工艺美术(文创)、日用品、快消品等,有比较复杂的电子信息类(智能终端、健康护理、智能穿戴等)、小家电等,有很复杂的家电、通讯工具、各类装备、交通工具类等。相对来说,前两类往往要求工业设计提供品牌战略、营销策划、产品策划、造型设计、工程设计、APP设计、UI/UX设计、打样、测试认证、包装设计、供应链整合、服务设计,乃至市场销售各项设计支持,厂家最希望一站式服务。而第三类往往厂家实力比较强,即使没有工业设计也能卖产品,工业设计往往从市场调研开始到工程数据模型或打样结束,其它的各类服务则是可选的服务;当然全流程系统的设计加持下,可以创造更大的效益。(例子参见:战略、品牌、设计三位一体:柳工故事)对于服务,除了没有有形产品外,其它的需要设计的方面是一样不少的。

总部位于英国的Arrival公司发布的一款新的、未来主义的电动巴士

 而一个国家的工业设计能力,不是看一个方便面的包装有多文艺、一个红酒温度计有多巧妙,而是家电、通讯工具、装备、交通工具、城市家具等常见、常用、高值产品的设计水平。这类产品既可以利用最新的材料、工艺、新技术,也可以在超前设计中催生新材料、工艺、新技术。(例子参见:苹果的工业设计撑起帝国

概念消防车设计 by Vladislav Kulikov

 工业设计的是对客户市场去深入研究相应的地理、历史、文化等因素,提炼要义,形成独特美学和设计哲学,并落子于自己的作品之中。这样的大家如黑川雅之。工业设计的是设计业界的通常逻辑如设计心理学、色彩学、材料学、加工工艺、项目管理等去安排相应的设计流程、交付标准等。工业设计的则是在不同的设计阶段选择何种的工具,如调查研究工具、设计软件、渲染方法、表面处理等等。

黑川雅之 日本铁艺 ‘NIRVANA’(涅盘)煮茶壶

工业设计中需要和不同的利益相关方进行合作,重要的是客户、用户和合作伙伴。客户是付钱的人,其老板最终是拍板确认设计的人;客户的不同职能部门如项目、工程、设计会参与项目。当工业设计主导时需要在每一步决策时需要充分考虑结构、材料、工艺和加工能力等,需要借助SE的专业能力,同时也需要对成本等进行综合考虑;而在工程主导时,工业设计主要被当作美工,效用会降低,但要有所作为。用户是最终购买和/或使用的人,工业设计的创意和客户多轮决策中的妥协,影响了用户是否买单。每个设计组织和设计师都有自己擅长和不擅长的方面,工业设计的线路这么长,借助合作伙伴的力量进行补充或替代是不可避免的,如UI设计可以设计,但是编码却得用软件工程师来做;而一个合作伙伴圈的水准会影响到一个项目的交付质量和设计机构的前途。

UI 设计

在中国在全力走向中国制造2025“的时候,这其中的国家意志、外来干扰和经济起伏相互影响,但是中国制造从量到质的转变已经不可逆转,正是工业设计的大好时光!

   

 热烈欢迎您点击这里提交项目需求或在首页下部分给我们快速留言,或直接电话/微信联系,我们将快速回复您。